Book Author(s)
John Rodgaard
Review Author
Frank Landrus
Published on
February 24, 2024
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$29.95

Helion is a UK-based company that produces books on many aspects of Military History from the Late Medieval period through to the present day. Helion was established in 1996, and since then they have published over 1,200 books, with 100 or more new titles coming out every year, for readers around the world.

Book Author(s)
Wen Jiang Chung
Review Author
Andy Taylor
Published on
February 23, 2024
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$29.95

This is the fourth book in the War in Ukraine series (currently at five volumes). The first two volumes were reviewed by Orlando Reyes of the IPMS/USA Review Corps:

Review Author
Doug Cole
Published on
February 21, 2024
Company
Italeri USA
Scale
1:12
MSRP
$142.66

The McLaren MP4/2C is a legendary Formula 1 racing car that debuted in the 1986 season. Designed by Gordon Murray, the MP4/2C was highly successful. The car featured an aerodynamic design and innovative technical advancements.

Powered by a turbocharged TAG Porsche engine combined with the car's lightweight construction and advanced aerodynamics, it was hailed as a marvel of engineering, pushing the boundaries of Formula 1 racing.

The talented McLaren team, led by the exceptional Alain Prost, enjoyed a remarkable 1986 season. Prost's stellar performance not only secured him the drivers' championship but also clinched the Constructors' Championship for McLaren. The MP4/2C's outstanding performance and reliability were pivotal factors in the team's triumphant campaign that year.

Review Author
Pat Villarreal
Published on
February 20, 2024
Company
Brengun
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$21.43

A new resin detail set from Brengun to add or replace 1/48 scale LAU-115 & LAU-127 missile rail launchers for all the variants of the F/A-18 Hornet, Super Hornet, and Growler.

In The Box

There are six (6) resin-poured parts. Two (2) are of the LAU-115 rail launcher with ECP-422 jettison adapters molded in plus two mounting shackles. The other four (4) are the LAU-127 rail launcher. They are designed to be used to launch the AIM-9 Sidewinder or AIM-120 AMRAAM missile. Paper instructions are printed on one side and very well illustrated.

Review Author
Paul R. Brown
Published on
February 20, 2024
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$18.95

This set is designed to provide replacement parts for Zvezda’s Pe-8 bomber kit. The package includes two complete sets of main gear struts and actuators and a new single-piece casting of the tailwheel fork assembly.

As with most of SAC’s landing gear sets, the metal main gear struts and actuator parts are intended to be one-for-one replacements for the kit parts. The parts are well cast, however, in my sample, one of the strut assemblies that hold the main gear wheels was misaligned (see photo), fortunately, as the white metal is easily manipulated, I was able to straighten it up with no issues.

SAC elected to cast the tailwheel fork as a single piece rather than as two parts as Zvezda did. I think this was a great decision as it eliminates the joint where the two kit parts meet, which could become a weak point over time.

Book Author(s)
Michał A. Piegzik
Review Author
Andy Taylor
Published on
February 20, 2024
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$29.95

“In far Alaska’s icy spray, I stand beside my binnacle
And scan the waters through the fog for fear some rocky pinnacle
Projecting from unfathomed depths may break my hull asunder
And place my name upon the list of those who made a blunder
Volcanic peaks beneath the waves are likely any morning
To smash my ships to tiny bits without the slightest warning
I dread the toll from reef and shoal that rip off keel and rudder
And send our bones to Davey Jones – the prospect
makes me shudder
The Bering Sea is not for me nor my fleet headquarters
In mortal dread I look ahead in wild Aleutian waters
Where hidden reefs and williwaws and terrifying critters
Unnerve me quite with woeful fright and give me fits and jitters.”

Review Author
Steve Zajac
Published on
February 19, 2024
Company
AMMO by Mig Jimenez
Scale
N/A
MSRP
$35.78

A new release from Ammo, the Atom metallic paint set contains 12 bottles (see list below) consisting of nine well-known metallic colors used in virtually all military and civilian scale model subjects, as well as red, green and blue metallic colors. The paints are water-based acrylics, non-toxic and odorless, and can be air brushed or brush painted. Each 20ml plastic bottle has a snap lid and contains a mixing ball. Of note, there are eight different Atom sets on the Ammo website. The Ammo acrylic thinner comes in a 60 ml snap lid plastic bottle.

Review Author
Steven J. Corvi
Published on
February 19, 2024
Company
ICM
Scale
1:72
MSRP
$52.99

What is in the Box

  • 4 gray injection molded plastic sprues
  • 1 clear sprue
  • 1 decal sheet with 4 markings options
  • 1 instruction book

The North American OV-10 Bronco was designed as COIN [Counter Insurgency] light attack aircraft with VSTOL [vertical and/or short take-off and landing ] capability. IT was primarily introduced to USMC and USN squadrons which was the intended customer. The USAF however was interested in this airframe as a FAC [Forward Air Control] aircraft to replace the Cessna L-19/O-1 ‘Bird Dog’ & Cessna O-2 Skymaster.

Review Author
Michael Reeves
Published on
February 19, 2024
Company
ICM
Scale
1:35
MSRP
$65.00

Based on the original 2014 Lastkraftwagen 3,5 t AHN German Army Truck kit, this kit adds a field kitchen and loads of accessories to kit it out. Field kitchens were used to provide hot meals to Wehrmacht soldiers in the field- either directly into the soldiers’ pots or into special large thermoses for delivery to units a bit farther away. They were often pulled by horses or towed behind vehicles- but this particular version was served out of the back of the truck. Soldiers’ humor gave the field kitchens the name ‘Gulaschkanone’ (‘Goulash Cannon’) for what was often served out of them.

The kit comes in ICM’s typical box art cover that slips over the front closing hinged cardboard box. Inside are nine sprues of gray styrene, a clear sprue, seven vinyl tires, and a decal sheet featuring two schemes and labels for the kitchen equipment and supplies.