Review Author
Rod Lees
Published on
March 31, 2014
Company
Hasegawa
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$53.00

The usual “Heavy Appreciation” goes out to Hasegawa USA for providing IPMS USA yet another fantastic re-release of one of Hasegawa’s catalog for review.

This kit is a re-release of Hasegawa’s mid-1980’s F-1 models. The molds have endured the test of time, and no flash is present on this kit. Engraved panels, accurate details, tight construction, and a change in pace for F-1 lovers in the form of a new decal sheet. Although I like the standard F-1 Japanese three-color scheme, this was just, well, different!

Review Author
Mike Hinderliter
Published on
April 1, 2014
Company
Aires Hobby Models
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$7.00

Aires has added the wheels and masks for the SU-27 Flanker to their line of resin aircraft accessories. This latest addition is molded in a grey resin; it’s smooth, seamless and bubble free.

For comparison I pulled out an Italeri Sea Flanker from my stash but found out that the Sea Flanker had 2 wheels up front. I called a friend of mine and he had the right kit so I compared it to the Encore SU-27. The Aires parts seem to be a little more detailed than the Encore wheels and the Aires paint masks are a very welcome addition to assist in painting.

I very highly recommend this product if you want a nice set of tires for your SU-27 model. I’d like to thank Aires Hobby Models and IPMS USA for the chance to do this review.

Review Author
Mike Hinderliter
Published on
April 2, 2014
Company
Aires Hobby Models
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$7.00

Aires has added the Type A wheels and masks for the F6F Hellcat to their line of resin aircraft accessories. This latest addition is molded in a grey resin, is smooth, seamless and bubble free. When I compared the type A tire to the type B tire I found that the type A had a diamond tread look to it, while the type B had smooth sides and a few lines that circled the tire. That’s all I could find about the different types except that they were used as a “that’s what we have at the moment” type of application.

For comparison I pulled out a Heller Hellcat from my stash. There really is no comparison. The Heller tires are molded as separate halves that have to be glued together while the Aires parts are solid with no seam to sand down and the paint masks are a very welcome addition to assist in painting.

Review Author
Mark Aldrich
Published on
April 3, 2014
Company
Meng Model
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$39.95

This TreadHead was recently persuaded to volunteer to review a Sci-Fi project and an Airplane! Not just any airplane mind you, but a 1/72 airplane… way outside my comfort zone! However, in every cloud there is always a silver lining, and that statement could not be truer than with this Meng F-102A.

Review Author
Scott Hollingshead
Published on
April 3, 2014
Company
Cyber-Hobby
Scale
1/700
MSRP
$34.95

This is the third Cyber-Hobby ship model that I have been privileged to build for a review (the others being the USS Chicago and the USS Virginia), and I will say that this was the most challenging of the three. There were a couple of complications due to my choice of building the full hull version, and there were some challenges obtaining a few of the necessary small parts. Still, the kit builds up into a very nice representation of the USS Long Beach (CGN-9), and I would recommend it to those wanting to add this fine ship to their collection.

Review Author
Roger Rasor
Published on
April 3, 2014
Company
Aires Hobby Models
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$13.50

Since Tamiya now has three 1/72 Corsair releases on the market, Aires has added a highly detailed set of F4U-1 Corsair dropped flaps to their line of aftermarket parts. This set enables modelers to build a 1/72 Corsair with flaps dropped without the need to carefully remove and modify the non-dropped flaps molded into the Tamiya kits’ wings.

Review Author
Bill O'Malley
Published on
April 3, 2014
Company
Model Art
MSRP
$21.32

Background

Auto Modeling is a high quality Japanese language magazine from publisher ModelArt. Each edition features models of cars, mostly racecars, from various race series and eras. Many of the previous editions focused on Formula One cars in different time periods.

The magazine has Japanese text, but some of the titles and headings are in English. The photographs are numerous and very high quality.

Contents

This issue, Volume 30, March 2014, has the following sections:

Book Author(s)
Marc Romanych & Martin Rupp
Review Author
Bill O'Malley
Published on
April 3, 2014
Company
Osprey Publishing
MSRP
$17.95

Introduction

From Osprey’s website:

In the early days of World War I, Germany unveiled a new weapon – the mobile 42cm (16.5 inch) M-Gerät howitzer. At the time, it was the largest artillery piece of its kind in the world and a closely guarded secret. When war broke out, two of the howitzers were rushed directly from the factory to Liege where they quickly destroyed two forts and compelled the fortress to surrender. After repeat performances at Namur, Maubeuge and Antwerp, German soldiers christened the howitzers ‘Grosse’ or ‘Dicke Berta’ (Fat or Big Bertha) after Bertha von Krupp, owner of the Krupp armament works that built the howitzers. The nickname was soon picked up by German press, which triumphed the 42cm howitzers as Wunderwaffe (wonder weapons), and the legend of Big Bertha was born.

Review Author
Mike Van Schoonhoven
Published on
April 4, 2014
Company
MiniArt
Scale
1/35
MSRP
$16.00

MiniArt is a Ukraine company that was established in 2001 and released their first kit in 2003. They are well known for their Diorama series, but the have released many armored vehicles, figure sets and accessory sets over the past several years.

This set comes in a end opening cardboard box and it contains six sprues of parts molded in a light gray plastic. The molding is clean with no flash, but there are a few minor mold lines that will need to be removed on some of the parts. The attachment points on the parts to the sprue have been well thought out even though some are on the large side. This should make clean up easy. These pieces have a high degree of detail even though some are relatively small.

What comes in the kit is as follows: