Review Author
Frank Landrus
Published on
March 2, 2015
Company
Brengun
Scale
1/144
MSRP
$30.74

Background

The G-5 was a Soviet motor torpedo boat built before and during World War II. Approximately 300 were built, of which 73 were lost during the war. Four were exported to the Spanish Republican Navy during the Spanish Civil War. Three were captured by the Finns during the ‘Winter War’, with two being used operationally against their former owners. Others were transferred to North Korea after the war.

Review Author
Greg Wise
Published on
March 3, 2015
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$12.95

The Product

My sample arrived in Eduard’s trademark clear poly envelope enclosing a piece of card stock, Eduard’s Knight standing at parade rest at the top right-hand corner. Inside I found one small photo-etch fret, one small textile fret and the instructions.

Review Author
Rod Lees
Published on
March 3, 2015
Company
Master Model
Scale
1/24
MSRP
$45.00

The owner of Masterwork truly knows Micro-metal machine work; This is the second review of three sets from Master Model which are all common in design but different in utility; IPMS USA sincerely appreciates Master’s support of our reviewer corps, and thanks to our leaders for sending these my way!

All parts are individually bagged by item within the generic display header bag; this prevents damage and ensures you have the correct bits to finish the set.

The difference in this set (24 0012) from the first set (24 0011) is the design of the

Book Author(s)
Mark Ansell; Illustrator: Artur Jusczak
Review Author
Clarence Wentzel
Published on
March 3, 2015
Company
Mushroom Model Publications
MSRP
$35.00

The Yellow Series from Mushroom Model Publications covers individual aircraft in great detail. This book on the Boulton Paul Defiant is an excellent example. The book starts out with the basic concept of the Defiant as a daytime bomber destroyer. It then covers night fighter operations, followed by air-sea rescue operations, its use as a target tug and other tasks.

Along with, and in addition to the description of the operational history of the Defiant, a great number of photos are included. These show experimental and operational aircraft as well as incredible details of all parts of the aircraft. The majority of the detail photos were taken of the only complete surviving example of the Defiant at the RAF Museum Hendon. The modeler will be very pleased with these detailed color photos.

Book Author(s)
Scotty Gosson
Review Author
Bill O'Malley
Published on
March 3, 2015
Company
CarTech
MSRP
$29.95

This excellent book is a showcase of show rod model kits from the perspective of a collector rather than a model builder. The book is an excellent read and includes hundreds of photos of classic show rod kits.

The first chapter is An illustrated History of Show Rod Modeling. The section describes how in the 1960s scale hot rod models begin to replace factory cars and older classic cars in popularity. Several examples of early show cars included the Lincoln Futura, Leva Car, and Outlaw as examples of early show rods. The chapter has 50 pages listing some of the most popular and most collectible show rod kids.

Chapter 2, The Corporate Sprue, describes the formation of the early model car companies and again includes some early kits as examples.

Review Author
Joe Staudt
Published on
March 4, 2015
Company
3D Model Parts
Scale
1/24, 1/25
MSRP
$22.95

The future of modeling has arrived! 3D Model Parts is a company specializing in 3-D printed resin accessories for car and ship models. Their only offering for cars at the moment is these wire wheels. They will work as 15” wheels for 1:25 scale cars, and14” wheels for 1:24 scale cars.

Available with 3 different styles of knock-offs, the wheels come in a pack of 5, with an instruction sheet that explains how to work with them. The wheels and knock-offs each come attached to a thin wafer of resin, not unlike traditional resin parts, which must be sanded away to release the part. I found it easier to cut the wafer away from the knock-offs, as they were too small to hold against any kind of sanding surface without also sanding the skin off my fingertips.

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
March 6, 2015
Company
Value Gear
Scale
1/72 - 1/76
MSRP
$11.50

Value Gear is an aftermarket company that I have never heard of before. My apologies to Value Gear for that. Now I’m glad I have heard of them as they have some really neat stuff. Reading on their website you can tell it is a business that is run by a modeler who chooses to release items thinking on what a modeler would like to see and use.

This set consists of 49 pieces -all of them casted on dark grey resin- representing at least 9 different shapes of wooden crates. They have nice surface detail, including wood texture on the surfaces. There are no mold casts that need to be removed and you can just start working with them as soon as you take them out of the bag.

Review Author
Eric Christianson
Published on
March 6, 2015
Company
Master Model
Scale
1/35
MSRP
$5.99

Master Model out of Poland, well-known for producing high-quality, precision after-market products, has recently released a German 2cm L50 KwK 38 Gun Barrel. This barrel is made to replace the ubiquitous AA and infantry support weapon found in a variety of 1/35th scale kits.

The barrel comes in two pieces of turned brass; a shaft and a delicately perforated cone that slips over the end of the shaft. The shaft is shorter than the standard 2cm L50 KwK 38 barrel and must be cut-in to the plastic using super glue.

I looked across my stash and found the following three comparison barrels:

  • (DML) Dragon 6590 Flak 38(t) Ausf. M Late Production
  • (TAS) Tasca Pz.Kpfw. II Ausf. L “Luchs”
  • (ITAL) Italeri 380 Opel Maultier with FlaK 38

I decided to upgrade my Tasca “Luchs” kit for this article. It came with a barrel that, coincidentally, was the narrowest of the three.

Review Author
Dave Morrissette
Published on
March 7, 2015
Company
Dragon Models
Scale
1/9
MSRP
$55.00

Dragon continues its Marvel figures with the Iron Patriot from Iron Man 3. Let me say right up front that this is one of the finest molded figure kits I have ever seen. Dragon uses the same slide mold technology they use on their armor on their figures. For example, the lower legs are one tubular piece. The kit is 80 flash free excellent gray parts with 2 clear parts, three vinyl parts, a metal piece and a large base. The plastic is excellent and sand beautifully which is important because he is metallic.

Review Author
Dave Morrissette
Published on
March 7, 2015
Company
Scale Aircraft Modelling
MSRP
$6.77

I get excited when the new issues of Scale Aircraft Modeling arrive. This issue had a large surprise upfront in that the editor, Jay Laverty, has moved on and they are in search of a new editor. The good news is that Neil Robinson, frequent builder and previous editor has stepped in to keep the great article coming. While the previous formats have been consistent, this interim issue is a collections of great articles an aviation in profile plus two bonus profile sets and all the expected news on new releases and current in stock materials.

To start, the Aviation in profile series has eleven pages of coverage of the North American T-2 Buckeye. There are bunches of different color schemes including the trainer colors but also camouflage version of Greek use as well as some really interesting Navy schemes.