Review Author
Mike Howard
Published on
April 14, 2009
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/24
MSRP
$22.95

Having recently gotten back into car modeling, more specifically Group "C" type cars, I jumped at the chance to review this pre-painted (blue) 5-point Sparco harness set. As with most high speed racing endeavors, the rules require some very stout driver to seat retention systems (seat belts), but these are poorly represented by either molded-in details or by decals. Eduard has come to the rescue with these excellent looking seat belt/harness sets.

I had to do a little research and stash cross-referencing to see what Group "C" car model that I had that would use the blue harnesses. After a short search, I found that the 1988 Le Mans winning Jaguar XJR-9LM (the Tamiya kit) used this color harness. The belts have a very nice texture to them and the colors are quite brilliant. As can also be seen in the photos, the lettering is very sharp and clearly printed.

Review Author
James Woody
Published on
April 14, 2009
Company
AMT
MSRP
$13.95

All right, a new Star Wars kit. AMT has finally released the Corporate Alliance Droid from the Revenge of the Sith©. This kit features 37 parts molded in light gray plastic and instructions. There are no decals or painting instructions provided with this kit, even though the instructions call out 11 different colors of paint.

The molding is fairly sharp with some ejector pin marks and mold separation lines. One part has the Lucasfilm copyright marking right were it will be seen, rather than on the inside of a part. The tracks are molded in one piece with separation lines down the middle and mold stubs all over the inside that will require some careful cutting to remove.

Overall this is a welcome kit from the Star Wars universe and with a little research on painting should make up into a very nice model.

© 2005 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved.

Review Author
James Woody
Published on
February 6, 2009
Company
Fine Molds
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$230.00

What can I say about this new model kit except WOW. The box is a whopping 17.75" x 27.75" x 4". Inside the box there is 16 part trees, a poly bag of screws and poly caps, decals, and a 24 page instruction booklet. The instruction booklet has 34 steps with options to build the Falcon from either Episode 4 or 5, because you get figures of Han, Chewie, Luke, Leia, C3P0, and Obi-Wan seated (for display in flight on the display stand) or of Leia, Luke, Han, and Sandtroopers standing with weapons. You get a paint and decal placement chart that is the size of the box, and a second sheet that has color photos of the filming prop.

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
The Small Shop
MSRP
$39.99

Photo-etch bending could sound intimidating but it shouldn't, particularly if you have the right tools for it. The Small Shop has designed "The Bug" to be the one-stop photo-etch bending tool. The tool is very well designed; compact, versatile, easy to use and made of aircraft grade aluminum.

The rotating head has a 2-inch straight edge for long bending lines, a "swiss comb" side with 6 "teeth" for boxes, and a variety of fixtures to fold parts of different sizes and material strengths, or for scratch built handles. All of these in a compact 2x2.5 inch base. It should be mentioned that some of hold-down fingers are reinforced for bending thicker brass, while others designed for thinner, more delicate parts. It is a nice touch from the Small Shop to include a razor blade (used for folding) with the tool.

Review Author
Rob Benson
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
The Small Shop
MSRP
$9.50

What You Get in the Bag

The Photo Etch Part Cut-Out Kit is packaged in a simple poly bag containing 3 black 3/32 inch-thick Plexiglas square tiles just shy of 4 inches on each edge, 1 clear 3/8 inch diameter Plexiglas rod 1 inch long, and 1 clear 3/32 inch thick Plexiglas tile measuring 1 by 1.5 inches. The rod has a slight chamfer (a 45 degree cut that softens the edge) on one end, and one long edge of the small clear tile is also chamfered. A one page instruction and description sheet is included. All of the parts were loose in the bag, but the black tile had protective paper to protect the finish.

Review Author
Andy Renshaw
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
The Small Shop
MSRP
$27.95

The Small Shop, the makers of the "Hold-n-Fold" photo-etch workstation, have added a new tool to their lineup, the "Standard Rolling Set".

This set comes with a milled aluminum base and a total of twelve rollers in metal and wood.

  • Wood - 3/4", 5/8", 1/2", 7/16", 3/8", 5/16", 1/4" & 3/16"
  • Steel - 0.125", .09375", .078" & .0625"

The milled base has a series of rounded cutouts that many of the smaller rollers will fit into. The base is not needed for the larger diameter rollers.

Review Author
Charles Landrum
Published on
September 2, 2021
Company
The Small Shop
MSRP
$70.00

I would like to thank Julie Lockwood for this review sample.

I would consider myself to be very experienced working with photo etched parts, having added them to armor, aircraft and ship models. In fact I love the challenge of working with the media. Up until now, however, I have roughed it, being content working the metal with a few pairs of pliers, scrap dowel, a steel rule, a no. 11 knife blade and a scrap piece of acrylic. In fact, I have turned up my nose at the fancy PE folding tools on the market. So Julie Lockwood of Kalama Precision Machine may not have realized that she was throwing down a challenge when she asked me to review some of their latest PE working tools. Suddenly, I was in the lion's den … alone.

Review Author
Charles Landrum
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
Gold Medal Models
Scale
1/700
MSRP
$9.00

I would like to thank Loren Perry for this review sample and the decal photo.

Until recently, ship modelers have had limited options for aftermarket decals. With the release of so many new ship kits, the demand for additional decal options has grown. While most manufacturers have focused on the etched-brass market, Gold Medal Models - one of the decal torch bearers as well as a PE manufacturer - has answered the call and released a decal sheet that covers the US Navy super carriers from CV(A)-59 on up. Not only will this sheet work with the new Trumpeter 1/700 NIMITZ Class, but also the classic Revell CVAN-65 ENTERPRISE, the venerable Monogram KITTYHAWK Class CV(A)s, the Italeri CV and CVN models and the Fujimi CV kits as well.

Review Author
Doug Hamilton
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
M & S Hobbies
MSRP
$12.50

The Porsche 962 was one of the most successful race cars ever produced. Being a customer based car, there were many teams that raced them at all the major tracks in Europe and the US. Every superlative fits this amazing car, and M & S Hobbies has chosen it as the basis for a series of decal sheets that will fit the Tamiya 962 kit. M & S also produces a transkit for the 962 that will enhance and accurize this kit, but that’s the subject of another review!

I received three decal sheets in the series. There are two sheets for the #86 Bayside Disposal car, One in Budweiser markings and the other in Bridgestone markings. The third sheet is in #16 Dyson Racing livery. Produced by UMI for M & S Hobbies these sheets contain all the markings for the featured car. Theses decals are about the finest I’ve ever seen. They’re extremely well printed and in perfect register. The colors are spot on to the actual cars according to my references and observations.

Review Author
Doug Hamilton
Published on
January 1, 2009
Company
M & S Hobbies
Scale
1/24
MSRP
$11.95

Produced to fit the Tamiya Porsche 962 kit, this set contains four turned and polished aluminum wheels, cast white metal inserts, and a fret of photo-etched trim rings. Assembly is a very straightforward affair that involves installing the centers into the rims, and attaching the trim ring to the center. I recommend painting the center insert gold before installing them on the rims. After the photo etched trim ring is added, a dark wash was used to give a little added depth. The tires pressed on, and they were complete. The center lug nut could be polished, or painted depending on the car you’re modeling. Check your references when deciding what to do with the nut.