Review Author
Dick Montgomery
Published on
March 29, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$21.95

Scale Aircraft Conversions, located in Texas, is well known to be a source of high-quality white metal landing gear sets for aircraft. Visiting the SAC Home Page on the internet, SAC states that,

“We manufacture a line of white metal landing gear for 1/18 to 1/144 scale aircraft. Some sets consist of the main gear only while others include the nose gear, tail gear and/or adjacent related components. Some inaccuracies in the original kit gear have been corrected but the mounting points remain identical to the factory parts. With numerous sets we have not sought to duplicate non load bearing component parts where the factory plastic parts are reasonably accurate. “

SAC also notes that they have been in business since 1990, offering white metal and resin parts. The SAC website features a page that will help the “first-timer” to successfully install the white metal parts of the model. Look for the navigation link labeled, “Using White Metal”.

Review Author
Chris Smith
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$13.95

This set is a metal replacement for landing gear in three kits of this aircraft currently on the market. Two main gear legs and a tail wheel are provided. The P-35 main gear has two retraction struts mounted on each side of the main gear. These are cast in the same soft white metal SAC is known for. The challenge of this set will be making those long thin struts straight. That said, this is a detailed replacement for the older kits of this aircraft. Thank you to SAC for the sample set and to IPMS for allowing me to take look at them for you.

Book Author(s)
Dariusz Karnas
Review Author
Blaine Singleton
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
MMP Books
MSRP
$11.99

In the Book

There are no chapters in this book. It’s contents are only 3 view drawings of the F-105 in 1/72 scale. Depicted in the drawings are the

  • F-105D-10-RE
  • F-105D-31-RE
  • F-105F
  • F-105G

The first set of drawings also include all the fuselage formers AA through GG.

Given that the book is only 3 view drawings and has 8 pages there is not a lot to write about. If you are a 105 fan than this would be something to add to your collection. This book would be a definite must if you are building a model true to scale and reference material.

The drawings are high quality and very detailed.

Summary

I want to thank Casemate and IPMS/USA for the opportunity to review the publication.

Review Author
Blaine Singleton
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Value Gear
Scale
1/35
MSRP
$17.00

Value Gear is known as a supplier of high-quality detail parts for armor kits as well as other subjects. Their accessories add to the detailed interest of any armor kit.

All the parts in this kit are resin and have an amazing amount of detail in them.

These accessory items are directed to the M-4 Sherman Easy 8 tank. I say items “directed to” because there are several armor kits that these items could be used on.

Package contents

The package contains 2 bundles of logs, 2helmet ruck sack combinations, bundle of tarps and storage boxes, a large tarp and 5 bundles of blankets.

Painting Materials

The first thing I did was to wash the resin barrels in soapy water to remove any residue that may be on the pieces.

I decided for ease of handling that I would attach the items to a small piece of wood with sticky tape ready for painting.

The following are paints that I used

Book Author(s)
Javier Garcia de Gabiola
Review Author
Frank Landrus
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$29.95

Helion is a UK based company that produces books on many aspects of Military History from the Late Medieval period through to the present day. Helion was established in 1996, and since then they have published almost 1,200 books, with 100 or more new titles coming out every year, for readers around the world.

Javier Garcia de Gabiola, from Spain is a lawyer, and has published numerous articles and books related to legal issues. Always interested in military history, he also regularly contributes to various Spanish military history magazines, for which he has written more than 50 articles and has published multiple pieces with the Universidad Autónoma de México. This represents Javier Garcia de Gabiola’s third title with Helion & Company with his previous two books being Volume 1 and 2 of The Paulista War: The Last Civil War in Brazil, 1932.

Review Author
Keenan Chittester
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Tamiya America
Scale
1:48
MSRP
$34.00

Tamiya’s line of 1/48 armor kits continues to grow, and I for one am thankful. This is kit number 100 in the series, and it comes in their usual black trimmed box with nice artwork of a Nashorn in winter camo. For a relatively small kit, the parts count is almost 200. As one would expect, the parts are very cleanly molded and nicely detailed. The tracks are link and length, with a very realistic sag molded into the top run of tracks. There is also a nice figure included and according to the instructions he is only to be used for the winter camo scheme. Speaking of camo schemes, there are markings provided on a small decal sheet for two options – the winter scheme and a three-color vehicle in desert yellow, green and brown camo. Instructions are provided in the usual Tamiya style – black and white with clear diagrams and detailed information for any additional guidance on placement, etc.

Review Author
Jim Stepanek
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Mission Models
MSRP
$5.75

MMP-134 Surf Green, MMP-135 Coral, MMP-136 Aracdian Blue, MMP-137 Lilac, MMP-179 Crocus yellow

Of the paints listed above, I used only the MMP-134 Surf Green on a 1966 Chevelle station wagon. Prior to painting the body was wet sanded with 2009 grit paper, washed and dried and then 2 coats of Duplicolor white primer were applied. After drying overnight, the primer was wet sanded with 2000 grit paper. After drying, a light coat of the white primer was applied.

I let everything dry over night before sending the MMP-134 Surf Green paint through the airbrush. I immediately saw that I was going to have an issue with coverage. I allowed 30 minutes between coats and after 4 coats I decided to quit. The MMP was not coving the raised portions on the fenders, hood and roof. I didn’t feel like stripping the paint off so I just covered everything with Nason 2-part clear and was done.

Book Author(s)
Bruno Mugnai
Review Author
Gino Dykstra
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$52.77

By the middle of the 17th century Spain held the largest empire the world had ever known – with territory spanning most of the New World to Italy and beyond. And yet, in an all-to-familiar tale, the enormous expense of maintaining such a long reach was prohibitive, and was quickly bankrupting the country. In addition, wealth was becoming concentrated into fewer and fewer hands, with nobility in one guise or another owning roughly 95% of all land in Spain. The monarchy was so strapped for funds that less than 20% of all taxes actually made it into the national treasury, most going to banks for loan debt, further enriching the elite at the expense of the nation.

Review Author
Ben Morton
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
ICM
Scale
1:35
MSRP
$133.00

From Wikipedia: “Einheits-PKW der Wehrmacht-literally:standardized military (passenger) cars was the Nazi German plan for a new, multi-purpose fleet of four-wheel drive, off-road capable and light trucks, based on just three uniform chassis, specifically designed and built for the Wehrmacht, formulated in 1934, and built from 1936 to 1943.

The new, standardized military vehicles were intended to replace the diverse fleet of two-wheel drive, militarized civilian vehicles, previously procured by the Reichswehr, predecessor of the Wehrmacht – with new cross-country mobile vehicles up to military requirements, that should simplify logistics, maintenance and training, by the use of standardized components.

Book Author(s)
Lee Chapman
Review Author
Dick Montgomery
Published on
March 28, 2022
Company
Key Publishing Ltd
MSRP
$29.95

The title of this publication is, “British Aircraft of World War One: A Photographic Guide to Modern Survivors, Replicas, and Reproductions".

It is, indeed, a photographic guide. Every page of the 128 pages in the book contains at least one photograph. Some of the images are of aircraft that date back to World War I, those being the Survivors. Also covered in text and photographs are replica aircraft and reproductions. In the “Author’s Note, definitions of these three types of aircraft are provided. In short, original aircraft are those which contain a “significant number” of original parts, although much of the aircraft may have been restored. “Reproductions” are defined as newly build aircraft which were constructed using similar materials and building methods. A replica appears to be an original aircraft but on closer inspection has parts and gear that are fairly modern, and certainly not original.