Book Author(s)
Bert Kinzey
Review Author
Chris Smith
Published on
September 7, 2022
Company
Detail & Scale, Inc.
MSRP
$19.99

After a near decade long hiatus, the Detail and Scale series is back up and producing modeler focused references for some of our favorite aircraft subjects. In this volume, number 13 in the new series, the authors follow up volume 12 by completing their examination of the FJ Fury series of Naval fighter aircraft. The book opens with an introduction to Burt Kinzey and Richard “Rock” Roszak. I found these bios helpful since I missed collecting the original series having taken a modeling hiatus of my own. A recap of volume one backfills what the reader missed if they don’t have volume 12. The focus of this volume is primarily the FJ-4 and FJ-4B with brief coverage of the FJ-4F. A history of development and employment of each type follows. Color profiles done by Mr. Roszak highlight colors and markings of various units and a complete list of the unit assignments is included.

Book Author(s)
Dr. Ray Solly
Review Author
Luke R. Bucci, PhD
Published on
September 7, 2022
Company
Pen & Sword
MSRP
$60.00

Thanks to Casemate Publishing & IPMSUSA for the review copy!

Casemate Publishers presents The Development of Crude Oil Tankers. A Historical Miscellany by Dr. Ray Solly. This book is a large hardbound with glossy pages chock full of photographs, detailed line drawings, and explanations of how tanker design progressed to the present day. Our current lifestyles and national security depend on these ships, so learning more about them is a joy. Learn why supertankers are the safest and most regulated form of transportation in the world.

The author, Dr. Ray Solly, started as a Navigation Officer in the Merchant Marine, including supertankers. His hobby was coasters, smaller tankers dispersing oil and petroleum goods to smaller markets. Dr. Solly was a schoolmaster for twenty years, and lately is a marine author of non-fiction books and many articles.

Review Author
Rod Lees
Published on
September 6, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$21.94

Here we are with one more of SAC’s white metal replacement to improve the longevity of the models we slavishly spend so much time and cash on. In the case of the new-tool 2019 release Vulcan, it’s a LARGE model and the metal replacement is a good idea.

How do I know this? Wellllll, back in 1984, around May, I had purchased the then-new Airfix Vulcan in 1/72 scale as my first acquisition while stationed at RAF Mildenhall. I bought the kit at a housewares store on the high street. What a concept, model kits for sale EVERYWHERE back then it seems. I took a year to build it due to a lot of reasons, but in the end I had a great model. And the gear wheels and tires kept breaking off. Particularly when I moved and boxed up my built up kits.

I know this because I still have this same model baking in the garage, in it’s Xtracolor Grays and greens, and I noticed there were some missing bits over time, much of it the landing gear.

Book Author(s)
Jose Augusto Matos
Review Author
Luke R. Bucci, PhD
Published on
September 6, 2022
Company
Helion & Company
MSRP
$29.95

Headlines: Cold War Intrigue. Secret MilOps. Prison Camp Raid! Merry Band of Mercs & Rebels Overthrowing a Corrupt Regime. Freedom Fighters vs. Commies. Sean-Connery-James-Bond Style / Peter Graves Style Mission Impossible Skullduggery. Government Disavowal of Actions. Records Expunged. Postmortem Analysis From Forgotten Document.

Guinea is the setting of this Africa@War Series book, describing the little-known commando assault by Portuguese and Guinean ex-pats to overthrow the current government and rescue Portuguese prisoners to thwart the Guinea guerilla tactics trying to overthrow and absorb neighboring Portuguese Guinea (now Guinea-Bissau).

Review Author
Rick Taylor
Published on
September 6, 2022
Company
CMK
MSRP
$20.45

The growing number of 3D printed kits is a boon to the hobby. We are now getting 3D printed kits of subjects that are not economically viable in styrene and for subjects long ignored by the big manufactures. But, new technologies bring new problems. Removing the 3D printed parts from the support structures and rafts can be a bit of work and as I have discovered the resin will quickly dull your expensive sprue cutter! CMK from the Czech Republic comes to the rescue with a new razor saw handle with a triangular blade that is perfect for dealing with these supports.

Review Author
Scott Hollingshead
Published on
September 6, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/32
MSRP
$22.93

Scale Aircraft Conversions now has over thirty years of experience supplying resin and white metal parts to model builders, and their product listing continues to expand. This is the twelfth landing gear set from SAC that I have reviewed, and once again, they have provided an excellent metal option for kit-supplied landing gear. This set is intended for the 1/32 scale F4F-4 released by Revell and I happen to have kit 85-6876 that was released in 2004 in my stash. The purpose of this replacement set is to provide stronger landing gear that is adjustable, if necessary, to obtain the proper angles. Even with no previous experience in using white metal parts, this set will provide an upgrade that most modelers will have no issue installing.

Book Author(s)
Marek Ryś
Review Author
Scott Hollingshead
Published on
September 6, 2022
Company
Kagero Publishing
MSRP
$25.95

For fans of the Dornier 335 Pfeil (Arrow), this book will be an important addition to your library with a combination of 1/72, 1/48, and 1/32 scale line drawings and color plates. Modelers will find the details provided in the drawings as valuable references, and aviation enthusiasts will also find particulars such as the cross-sectional views interesting. I would highly recommend this recent release from Kagero as an addition to your library.

Book Author(s)
Peter Barnaky
Review Author
Orlando Reyes
Published on
September 5, 2022
Company
Peko Publishing
MSRP
$41.95

This book is number 23 of The World War II Photobook Series.  As the title implies this book is a series of photos taken on the battlefield. You will find quite a collection of German AFV in many locations, as well as condition. There are photos of German AFV in pristine condition, in battle, as well as those destroyed.  Most of the photos are accredited to Peter Kocsis, with one accredited to Paul Johnson and 5 to The Archives of Modern Conflict. All photos have interesting subjects and many may be a good source of dioramas.

Book Author(s)
Jon Diamond
Review Author
Andy Taylor
Published on
September 4, 2022
Company
Pen & Sword
MSRP
$28.95

The book’s title, Burma Victory 1944-1945, is a little misleading as the first, very detailed chapter delves into the Japanese blitzkrieg beginning in December 1941 through 1942. The Japanese victories in China, the Dutch East Indies, Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaya and the Philippines set the stage for this book on a long forgotten and neglected theater of World War II. The author does an amazing job describing the harsh, varied terrain, weather and combatants and how the Allies regrouped and learned to fight the previously invincible Japanese military as they made their furthest incursion west.