Review Author
Allan Murrell
Published on
February 10, 2017
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$32.95

This is a photoetch bomb bay upgrade set to for the Revell Ventura MkII which has very simple molded details in the kit part and really needs them. One reason I put off buying the Revell kit was my disappointment in the bomb bay detail, this set make it very simple to really improve the kit.

In the packet is:

  • 1 large photoetch steel sheet
  • 1 instruction sheet

Summary

This is a fantastic set and the kit really needs this as it’s a major improvement. The set does require a lot of work removing the simple molded details on the kit parts especially part B6. But it’s well worth all the effort. The set also includes the bomb fins and spinners. I really loved the finish look of the bomb bay once this was done. If you have the Revell kit you have to get this set!

Thanks go to Eduard for providing this set to review and IPMS USA for allowing me to review it for them.

Review Author
Floyd S. Werner Jr.
Published on
February 9, 2017
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/32
MSRP
$10.95

Every type of aircraft that has an ejection seat or explosive cartridges has a safety item that can be removed to make them safe to be around. That item is a Remove Before Flight safety pin. Every pin has a red tag attached to it so it can be removed before flight. Funny how that works.

Eduard has offered Remove Before Flight tags before in their normal line. They worked but they were very stiff. These new tags are much thinner and can be bent much more realistically.

Inside the usual Eduard packaging is one colored fret with coloring on both sides. The printed “Remove Before Flight” is only on one side. One set has some printing on the other side. The printing is crisp and looks great.

You will have to make the chords from wire. But that makes it easy to adjust the length of the flags.

Review Author
Dave Steingass
Published on
February 8, 2017
Company
Hauler
Scale
1/87
MSRP
$7.00

Most of the time, Figures in small scales, such as HO (1:87) are armed with weapons that roughly represent their 1:1 scale real-world counterparts at best, and more often than not, look like sticks or worse.

If you have any 1:87 scale WW2-era Soviet troops that need improved weapons, this is for you.

The kit is composed of 1 sheet of photo-etched brass, containing 10 WW2-era Soviet Small Arms, and 1 instruction sheet

The small arms are very highly detailed, historically accurate, and are folded in half to represent both 3D sides of the weapon. Iron sights and bolt-action levers, as well as magazines, and even triggers and trigger-guards are represented very well on the models.

As seen in the picture below, I have assembled the Mosin-Nagant standard infantry bolt-action rifle.

Review Author
Rob Benson
Published on
February 7, 2017
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$16.95

Many thanks to Mr. Ross MacMillan of Scale Aircraft Conversions and the IPMS Reviewer Corps for allowing me to try this neat substitute and replacement set for the newly-released Zoukei-Mura F-4J Phantom II. I am pleased to report on another sweet add-on and upgrade from this company. The target kit has excellent detail and complexity making it a bit heavier than most, and having strong metal “legs” really helps!

The 7 white-metal parts arrived in a blister pack, backed by the distinctive SAC company logo. The weight of the parts is very noticeable. All parts are free of sprues and are nearly ready for priming and painting. The parts require very little buffing, cleanup and polishing. There are some barely-noticeable seams that readily retreat at the advance of a #11 blade!

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
February 7, 2017
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$7.95

Eduard Models continues to expand its Brassin line, this time with a drop-in replacement for the Hasegawa Mc 202 (also applicable to the Eduard Folgore #1132).

The parts are casted in grey resin, with no bubbles or surface imperfections. Please note that the parts are handed (i.e., they are left and right parts).

The exhaust ends are hollow (big improvement over the plastic part) and the sides of the exhaust are very thin, much closer to scale. The parts also include a beautiful weld seam.

You can see from the pictures that the resin parts certainly improve the look of the model and because they are a drop-in replacement it takes no extra time to install them. They fit perfectly!

Highly recommended.

I would like to thank Eduard Models and IPMS/USA for the review sample.

Review Author
Paul R. Brown
Published on
February 7, 2017
Company
Eduard
Scale
1/72
MSRP
$7.95

The SC 50 was a small general purpose bomb used by the Luftwaffe in World War II. The bomb weighed between 48 and 55 kg and was produced in several different variants. It was carried by Luftwaffe bombers and fighter-bombers during the war. The bombs could be equipped with “screamers” which look like long whistles to make noise during flight.

This set provides eight SC 50 bombs and thirty-two very tiny screamers. The bombs are single piece units which are easily separated from the pour stubs. The screamers are provided in sets of 8 on 4 separate pour stubs. After removing the bombs from the pour stubs, I lightly sanded them on a piece of sandpaper taped to a small piece of glass from an old picture frame, making sure to keep the bombs vertical. This removed the remains of the pour stubs. Work slowly as the bombs are small and the fins are delicate. Fortunately I only broke off one of them, but it was quickly reattached with superglue.

Review Author
Dave Steingass
Published on
February 7, 2017
Company
Hauler
Scale
1/87
MSRP
$9.00

I started out with this small, bagged resin and Photo-Etched brass kit, thinking it would be a quick, enjoyable build. What I found was much more complicated.

The kit consists of 1 Photo-Etched Brass sheet containing the Acetylene Torch/Welding cart and two different welding guns, depending on your preference, and 1 resin sprue consisting of the welder figure, two spoked wheels, two very fragile axles, and the gas tanks.

Initially, the parts removal and flash cleanup are fairly easy, however, this is in 1/87 scale (HO), so everything is very small as seen in this photo with needle nose pliers and #11 Xacto blade for scale.

Up until this point, the build went relatively well, bending the cart into shape, and fitting the axle and wheels to the cart. However, My mistake was not gluing the gas tanks to the cart before I fitted the axle and wheels.

As a result, my fat fingers applied too much pressure and I completely destroyed the cart/axle system.

Review Author
Rod Lees
Published on
February 7, 2017
Company
Brengun
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$4.50

THANK YOU to our friends and suppliers at Brengun for this sending us review items like this fuel tank cap set! And thanks also to the reviewer corps leaders for making them available to me to review….

This set takes the kit components and improves them by providing a more 3-d effect after installation. This simple set has different fuel caps for use on aircraft and, most assuredly, on other items in 1/48 scale. Included are 50 caps of various designs, sufficient for several WWII fighters

To use this set is actually simple; prepare the kit fuel cap area by removing any detail, and use a spot of gel or thick superglue (a VERY SMALL SPOT or you will have ooze) to hold the part in place.

I never would have thought a set like this would have utility, but when placed next to the kit part, I see the improved appearance.

Review Author
Timothy Gidcumb
Published on
February 5, 2017
Company
Airfix
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$26.99

The Boulton Paul Defiant was a British interceptor aircraft that served with the Royal Air Force (RAF) during World War II. The Defiant was designed and built by Boulton Paul Aircraft as a "turret fighter", without any forward-firing guns. It was a contemporary of the Royal Navy's Blackburn Roc. The concept of a turret fighter related directly to the successful First World War-era Bristol F.2 Fighter.

Review Author
Brian R. Baker
Published on
February 5, 2017
Company
Airfix
MSRP
$19.99

History

In the late thirties, the British Royal Air Force was in the process of re-equipping its bomber units with new, high performance monoplanes. The goal was to outperform existing fixed gear fighter biplanes, such as the Hawker Fury and Gloster Gladiator. Bristol contributed a design for a twin engine monoplane called “Britain First”. This airplane was privately financed by Lord Rothmore, and was intended primarily as a business executive plane. The RAF tested the type, and was impressed, so after considerable redesign, the type emerged as the Type 142 bomber. Tests were completed by 1936, and full production was ordered under the name Blenheim Mk. I.