Review Author
Paul Bradley
Published on
June 1, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1:72
MSRP
$12.95

Scale Aircraft Conversions provides resin and white metal parts for scale model aircraft, most of which are drop-in landing gear replacements.

The Airfix 1/72 Buccaneer S.2 was released in 2019 and this set from SAC is a direct copy of that kit’s landing gear. The set contains both main gear legs and the nose gear leg, with the actuator strut for the nose leg also included. This set departs from the kit in that the lower forks of one side of each main leg are included as separate pieces, presumably to aid with construction as the original legs are in two separate halves.

No instructions are provided, as the use is fairly self-explanatory; being copies, the legs have the same attachment points as the kit parts and should be drop-in replacements.

Despite being direct copies, these white metal pieces have lost a lot of definition and finesse compared to the kit parts. In addition, the separate forks add an element of weakness not present in the kit.

Review Author
Hub Plott
Published on
June 1, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1:48
MSRP
$17.95

Scale Aircraft Conversions is a name well known for their replacement white metal landing gear for many different scales and kits. This set provides replacement for the Modelsvit 1/48 XP-55. Besides the landing gear you are also given a white metal nosewheel gear bay roof which will no doubt aide in preventing the model from tail sitting or at least reduce the amount of added nose weight required.

These are drop fit replacements for the kit plastic landing gear and are also stronger.

I have used many of these sets on my tricycle landing gear builds. The extra strength of these is extremely helpful especially when a large amount of nose weight is required. They are always well molded and easy to use. CA glue is required, and I have used every type of model paint from acrylics to lacquer with no problems.

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
June 4, 2022
Company
AMMO by Mig Jimenez
MSRP
$26.92

Over the last year I had the opportunity to review some products from Ammo by Mig and I have been impressed with their quality and ease of use. To the point that I started purchasing some other items from the line… but at times the online information is not completely clear on how to use the different products.

Enter “How To Paint With Acrylics 2.0” book. This book explains in great detail how to paint with the AMMO by Mig acrylics line, and also includes a lot of details on how other products of their line complement the acrylic paints, how to troubleshoot issues, and more.

The book is broken down in the following chapters:

Book Author(s)
Bruno Bork
Review Author
Orlando Reyes
Published on
June 4, 2022
Company
Greenhill Books
MSRP
$34.95

The book was originally printed in German and published by Vaerlagshaus Wurzburg GmbH & Co. in 1977. There was a revised edition in 2009 and this new edition published, and I suspect translated by Greenhill Books. The book is divided into 10 chapters and starting with the formation of the unit in 1940 and it ends with their last battle in South-Eastern Front in 1944-45.

I was impressed by the numerous photos in the book. You will find candid shots, action shots as well as the different equipment used by the unit. The book is basically a unit story and takes you through the many battles in which the unit was involved from its formation to its end. It will, also introduce you to some of their personnel and awards.

The book reads like a “unit story” and that is what its basically is; throughout the book you are introduced to the unit challenges during the battle and the outcome of those battles and many of the members of the unit.

Book Author(s)
Richard Marmo
Review Author
Phil Peterson
Published on
June 4, 2022
Company
Richard Marmo
MSRP
$0.99

The 9th e-book from Richard Marmo has to do with turning an e-book into a hard copy to keep on your shelf.

I relate well to this title as I am one of the old school who still prefers paper to pixels. While I am willing to read books on my phone when it comes to model related material, I would much rather have it flat on my desk to review rather than on a computer or phone screen.

Richards smaller than usual e-book actually points to these concerns during his introduction. The Basics covers the different types of formats available and brings up copyright concerns.

The then jumps into the meat of the topic with what is needed to print, namely a computer, printer, Adobe Reader and even discusses the different types of paper and using binders to store the printed version.

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
June 6, 2022
Company
Scale Aircraft Conversions
Scale
1/48
MSRP
$12.95

Scale Aircraft Conversions specializes in white metal replacement parts. Its line of replacement landing gear has been expanded to include a set for the Hasegawa (reboxed by Revell as well) 1/48 Hurricane. This set applies to the whole line of Hurricanes: Mk.I, Ia, II, IIB/C/D and IV.

The set is including a total 5 parts covering the main landing gear struts and tail wheel. These parts are drop-in replacements for the plastic parts.

Considering that the Hurricane is a medium size model -in 1/48- I don’t think the reason to get a metal landing gear is due to the weight (unless you add a lot of resin to it) but rather the reason to get the set might be to be able to ‘tweak’ the landing gear strut for an improved alignment of the parts to achieve a proper stance.

You can see from the pictures the parts are very cleanly molded and formed, without barely visible molding lines, which can be removed just a few passes with a metal file.

Review Author
Pablo Bauleo
Published on
June 7, 2022
Company
ICM
MSRP
$109.00

I have been using enamels for many years (a couple of decades) now. Enamel hobby paints are getting hard to find and there are the health considerations on enamels, so I have been exploring different acrylic options out there. I was surprised to find out that ICM Models from Ukraine has released an extensive set of paints that are acrylic and water thinnable.

The 80-Color boxing includes 77 actual colors and 3 varnishes: matt, satin and gloss. There is no thinner included in the boxing, but that is nitpicking. The box says that you can thin the paint using water.

The full list of colors follows

Book Author(s)
Pierpaolo Maglio
Review Author
Dave Morrissette
Published on
June 7, 2022
Company
Aviation Collectibles
MSRP
$24.95

Pierpaolo Maglio is a great modeler whose work can be found on line but for the those that don’t know, he is also a published author and his latest book is what this review is about, a brief history of the Italian 102nd Squadron.

A look at the index shows the history starting in 1942:

Book Author(s)
Dariusz Paduch
Review Author
Dekker Zimmerman
Published on
June 7, 2022
Company
Kagero Publishing
MSRP
$33.95

I received this book as a big fan of the MiG-3 WWII fighter and hoped to get more info on the subject.

There has not been much written on the actual aircraft and even fewer photos.

This is volume 1 in the MiG-3 Monograph Series #80 and deals mainly with the development of the aircraft.

Most of the first half of the book deals with other aircraft in Soviet development  and concentrates on the designers and design boroughs of the VVS and others.

The majority of the book talks about the disjointed workings of the soviet government under Stalin and how designers of early soviet aircraft were shuffled around and sometimes imprisoned.

This book shows how the early designers cared about only speed and not much on aircraft strength and maneuverability.  Many pages talk about the development of just early soviet power plants and engines.

Book Author(s)
Sgt Antoni Beda.
Review Author
Allan Murrell
Published on
June 7, 2022
Company
MMP Books
MSRP
$11.90

This is a very thin book with only 24 pages, but they are very high quality, outline drawing, full of profile pictures, and detailed Photographs of the Hawker Hurricane Mk IIC.

The first 5 pages are dedicated to scaled outline drawings in both 1/72 and 1/48 scales, idea for most scale modelers to use.

The following three pages cover full aircraft shots in action.

Then the next 11 pages are what makes this book really worth buying which is the details pictures and drawings giving some super views for model references.

The last four pages cover a full color drawing of the instrument panel and aircraft profile pictures.

I will be using this book for a upcoming build of a 1/72 Hurricane and it will provide all the detail references I will need. This is a fantastic thin and inexpensive reference for all to use.

I recommend this book to everyone who likes and or builds Phantom’s